Uncategorized

Lost things, friendship & love – The Geography of Lost Things by Jessica Brody

Hello everyone, I hope you all have an amazing and wonderful day! Today I want to introduce you to one of my new all time favorite books, The Geography of Lost Things by Jessica Brody, a book that I honestly can’t wait to read again.

Here’s a mini synopsis:

One of the things Aly knows about her father is that he never loved her as much as he loves his 1968 Firebird convertible, that and he never keeps his promises to her and her mother and always leaves them behind to follow his all time favorite band Fear Epidemic. He always disappears. When she thinks she won’t hear of him again there’s a knock on her door that changes EVERYTHING.

Now, with a Firebird outside her house that her father left her after he passed away, the only thing she wants to do is to get rid of it and so she sells the car to help her mother pay the bank. The only thing she needs to do is drive the car to the person who wants to buy it, but for that she needs the help of the person she used to love and trust the most… Nico, her ex-boyfriend. 

Review:

For the last couple of weeks I have been looking to read fun books. I think this is the year I read more emotional books than last year and I wanted to read something different. And when I saw this book I just… well, I fell in love with the cover and the synopsis sounded amazing, I was intrigued and I knew I had to get it and I’m glad I got it.

There aren’t enough words to describe how much I loved this book! It’s the kind of story you enjoy from the beginning and you want to read more to know what happens next and at the same time, you want to read it slowly to not miss anything. The Geography of Lost Things is fun, swoony and special. There are TONS of beautiful and amazing quotes and I found myself marking the pages where I found them because I just loved them so much!

Don’t you love when you discover new characters? In this story we get to meet Aly and Nico. We get to understand why certain things happen like, how they met and eventually fell in love to the reason why the broke up. I loved to read when they were on the car, how there were awkward moments when they didn’t know what to say and how there were other times when they forgot about everything and just enjoyed the trip while listening to podcasts and music!

Aly had this list of rules with the intention of not falling for Nico again, of not remembering the night when they broke up but little by little, things changed between them. One of my favorite things about The Geography of Lost Things was the banter between Nico and Aly. They made me laugh SO MANY TIMES, while they are so different from each other, they still had things that made them perfect for each other. 

During this trip they met lots of strangers, they started to learn more things about them that they didn’t know, they learned how to let go and start over, to trust and to know that even when it seems that everything is falling a part, we aren’t alone.

The Geography of Lost Things is a beautiful story that I’m sure I’ll be reading soon, I hope you all like it when you read it! Have you heard about this book? Are you planning to read it? Please let me know in the comments below!

10 thoughts on “Lost things, friendship & love – The Geography of Lost Things by Jessica Brody

  1. I read a preview of this book and thought it sounded great! I’d won a hardcover copy and planning on reading it; thanks for the review!

    Like

  2. This was added to my favorites shelf. I really adored it. I will usually enjoy a Brody book, but not as much as I enjoyed this one, and the ending was so, so good. Loved every second of it.

    Like

  3. OMG Ali and Nico sound so dreamy – the banter, the camaradie, everything about them makes me want to pick up this book right now and have the loveliest of reads, just like you did 🙂
    And you’re right, sometimes we just need a fun book to get us our groove back.
    I’m so glad you enjoyed this book, Becky! Stellar review as always ❤

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.